Setting The Bar

Image result for Setting the bar

You tell me we can’t rap, but this a poem that I flow with,

cuz anything could be considered poetry, and you gonn know-it,

I’ll teach a lesson on wordplay, meter, with a fight for a cause,

then when all’s said and done, it’s your mind that keeps grow-in.

What is this life that I got thrown in? We live our lives to a “Law”,

with a guideline and morals, plus a mind that keeps going,

giving thoughts of what was, some-times you just gotta “pause”,

to see the better of the world, we keep on fighting because,

when pressing down on the NOS, it’s getting tired, exhaust,

but take a breather, keep on moving, 98 and Microsoft.

As the days go on, I feel closer and closer to a big change in my life. Being out of the 2 “activities” in my life will drastically change my everyday life. Lately I have been trying to make the most of it and think of it as a “final run”, but sometimes we all just get bogged down in negative/misleading thoughts. No matter what it is, we all have those “things” that prevent us from doing something in our lives, which can lead to depression and a lack of sense of place in the world. This being said, it is always good to keep your mind positive with things that you love, enjoy doing, and genuinely have a good connection to in order to stay happy in times of depression or stress. Now that I have made the statement that I use to stay “up”, my place of happiness definitely is my shop, with my cars, music, and good friends. If I can’t have this, then I usually just listen to music, drive, or write song lyrics to keep my mind occupied, but even then, I am often times pretty busy with the rest of my life. I think that the biggest influence in my life, and probably others as well, would be having the right people in your life, learning from them while they do the same. No matter what it is, you can always learn something from someone, whether it be to learn a new concept or whether you are skeptical about someone and use them to learn what you do and don’t want in life or relationships. The other major part in keeping a level head, is to maintain an optimistic outlook on life (glass half full instead of half empty). If you believe that there is no way to go but down then that is no way to live, but if you think to yourself, “Man, today is gonna be a good day”, then you can put yourself in a mindset which not only influences your own health, but can also affect people around you as well.

3 thoughts on “Setting The Bar

Leave a comment